Afghanistan Currency 5 Rupees  ; Series: 1919-20 Issue

Afghanistan AFGHANISTAN 5 Rupees AH1322 (1904) silver 46g

The rupee was the currency of Afghanistan until 1925. Before 1891, silver rupees circulated with copper falus and gold mohur. The three metals had no fixed exchange rate between them, with different regions issuing their own coins.
In 1891, a new currency was introduced, based on the Kabuli rupee. The rupee was subdivided into 60 paisa, each of 10 dinar. Other denominations issued included the shahi of 5 paisa, the sanar of 10 paisa, the abbasi of 20 paisa, the qiran of 30 paisa and the tilla and later the amani, both of 10 rupee. The rupee was replaced in 1925 by the Afghani. Ironically, the currency itself was first issued by Afghan monarch Sher Shah Suri during his rule of northern India.
Today the unit of currency in Afghanistan is the afghani.


Post a Comment